Ageliki Tsagaratou

Ageliki received her BSc degree in Biology from the National and Kapodistrian University (Athens, Greece) in 2004 and pursued her PhD at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in the laboratory of Dr. George Mosialos where she focused her research on the truncation of the catalytic domain of the cylindromatosis (CYLD) tumor suppressor. Dr. Tsagaratou was a postdoctoral research fellow in the laboratory of Dr. Anjana Rao at La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology and has served as an Instructor at the same institution. Her research program at La Jolla focused on T cell development and differentiation. She joined UNC in September 2018. Ageliki’s primary appointment is in the Department of Genetics. In addition, she is a member of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, the Inflammatory Diseases Institute and the Center for Translational Immunology.  Since May 2020, Ageliki holds a secondary appointment in the  Department of Microbiology & Immunology. She is a faculty mentor in the UNC Biological & Biomedical Sciences Program (BBSP), the Curriculum in Genetics and Molecular biology (GMB), the Curriculum in Cellular Biology and Physiology (CBP) and the  PhD program in Microbiology & Immunology . Her research interests are focused on epigenetic and transcriptional regulation in T cell differentiation, function, and disease.

Mentor Training:

  • Bias 101
  • Faculty Mentoring Workshop for Biomedical Researchers
  • Groundwater Approach: Building a practical understanding of structural racism
  • Implicit Bias Awareness
  • REI Phase I Training
  • Safe Zone
  • Culturally Aware Mentoring

Dimitris Theofilatos

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Ph.D., School of Medicine, University of Crete, Greece

M.Sc., School of Medicine, University of Crete, Greece

B.Sc. Biology, Faculty of Biology, School of Science, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece


Former Lab Members

Nikolas  Tsiouplis

Undergraduate Research Assistant (February 2019-May 2021)


2020 Hagadorn Award Recipient

SURF 2020 Recipient

Class 2021

Fiona Wissink

Undergraduate Research Assistant (February 2019-November 2020)


Program for Precision Medicine in Health Care (PPMH) SURF 2020 Recipient

Class 2021

Ryan Sheehy

BBSP rotating graduate student

Fall Rotation 2020

Wes (David) Bailey

Research Technician (January  2020- September 2020)

B.S. in Microbiology, North Carolina State University

Jake Wrobel

Sonam Saxena

Lilly Chiou

1st year BBSP graduate student (Fall rotation)

B.S. Duke University

Ennessa Curry

Isaiah Kim

Research Assistant (September 2018-March 2019)

B.S. UNC Chapel Hill